blogtober, book review, book tag, books, tbr, www wednesday

WWW Wednesday (October 14 2020) | Blogtober

Hey guys, welcome back to another WWW Wednesday!

WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

The three W’s are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What have you recently finished?
  3. What do you plan on reading next?

To join in on the fun, just answer these three questions in a post, and comment the link to that post at Taking on a World of Words.

You can really tell I’m getting into the spooky Halloween vibes from this post. I can’t help it, I love atmospheric reads that fit the season I’m in!


WHAT I AM CURRENTLY READING:

The Accident Season by Moira Fowley-Doyle

I picked this out for my book club’s novel this month, and I’m a little less than halfway through it. I’ll be honest, I’m not loving it so far. I’m getting weird vibes from the possible romance, but the mystery of what the hell is going on has me in too deep to dnf now.

Hopefully I enjoy this a little more as it goes on and I don’t end up completely hating it.

The Year of the Witching by Alexis Henderson

I just used my audible credit on this and I’m roughly 40 minutes in and really loving this so far. It’s very creepy, and perfect for the Halloween season. It’s a struggle for me to read audio books as I’m not as much of an auditory person as I am visual, but I’m giving it my best and I’m trying to stick with it. I think I’ll be able to, as I really am liking the eerie narration of this one!

WHAT I RECENTLY FINISHED:

Pumpkinheads by Rainbow Rowell

This was a seasonal graphic novel that I really had a fun time reading. We follow Deja and Josiah who are working there last night at the pumpkin patch, and decide to go out with a bang. A fun journey across the pumpkin patch follows, with a wild goat terrorizing along the way. It’s a really fun story that puts you in the perfect autumn mood!

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix

This was such a fantastic book. I really enjoyed this story and the way Grady Hendrix mixes in subtle humor among horrors. It creates a very entertaining dynamic that keeps you hooked.

This novel is basically about a group of middle-aged wine moms in a book club that are the only ones in their southern town to take notice and connect the dots that the mysterious new stranger in town is not who he seems. It’s a fun time, but also might turn your stomach if you can’t handle blood and gore.

WHAT I PLAN ON READING NEXT:

There’s Someone Inside Your House by Stephanie Perkins

This is another title I bought for only $2.99 that I was super hype about! I had this on my TBR for October so this was the perfect time to find a deal on it! I’m actually a little nervous going into this, as I’ve seen some mixed reviews and heard it’s more of a romance-focused horror novel, which sounds like a heaping pile of garbage, but maybe the author can pull this off! Besides, one man’s trash is another’s treasure. Stay posted to see if this turns out to be my trash or treasure.

The Only Good Indians by Stephen Graham Jones

Now I am feeling quite the opposite about this novel, which I am really excited to start. I don’t know very much about it at all, but I’ve read some great reviews and heard it’s very literary for a horror book, which is a blend I would like to see. I’m interested to find out how the author tells this horror story, there are so many different ways!


There we have it? Have you read any of these or are reading them? Let me know your thoughts!

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (October 14 2020) | Blogtober”

Leave a comment