The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry

Title: The Passion of Dolssa

Author: Julie Berry

Publisher: Penguin Books

Series Status: Stand-alone

Page Count: 478

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis: Dolssa is a young gentlewoman with uncanny gifts, on the run from an obsessed friar determined to burn her as a heretic for the passion she refuses to tame.

Botille is a wily and charismatic peasant, a matchmaker running a tavern with her two sisters in a tiny seaside town.

The year is 1241; the place, Provensa, what we now call Provence, France—a land still reeling from the bloody crusades waged there by the Catholic Church and its northern French armies.

When the matchmaker finds the mystic near death by a riverside, Botille takes Dolssa in and discovers the girl’s extraordinary healing power. But as the vengeful Friar Lucien hunts down his heretic, the two girls find themselves putting an entire village at the mercy of murderers.

Review: This was a very enjoyable book. If you know me, you know that I have a deep love for historical fiction. It captivates me like no other genre does, not even fantasy, and absorbs me into the story. I’m not sure what it is, maybe I just love history that much.

I expected to go into this and find it to be a bit slower-paced, but it was anything but. It had me so captivated I could not put this book down. I read it all through school, through practices, and walking home. You learn to love the characters and have to find out how they end up. I appreciated this no being a romance novel, but still containing enough that it warmed my heart, but did not interfere with the epic plot.

As I said, you learn to love the characters. I loved all of the characters, every single one of them, even the antagonist. Botille was such a funny, well-thought out character. She had me cracking up all through this book, which was not something I expected, and I found more than a bit of myself in her personality.

All the characters I found to be humorous, even Dolssa. Dolssa was such a beautiful, mesmerizing character to read about, and I enjoyed her story, and Botille’s.

I do not have much more to say, other than this was beautiful. A life-lesson, with a melancholy ending. It was educational and gripping, and will not let go of you for a long while.

Overall, this was a great book that I really enjoyed.

I give this novel 4.5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction.

For more reviews from readers of The Passion of Dolssa, click here.

Leave a Reply

