A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Wings and Ruin

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books

Series Status: 3rd installment in A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy

Page Count: 699

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.

Review: Alright guys, here it is. I waited a year for this book, after the devastating ending of the last book. Before I start, I would like to say a couple of things to make this very clear. I have always loved Sarah J. Maas, since I was a small 13 year old and found a book in my local library about an assassin and her story. I have continued to love her ever since, and although she is not perfect, I think she is the best author I have ever read. Maybe that is because of how engulfed I get into her books, or perhaps just how I connect to her, but I think she is an amazing author. I also would like to point out that this will have many, many spoilers throughout, so I would advise any of you that have not read it to turn away now, and maybe come back when you have finished if you like. Here we go.

The plot was so thick, confusing, as it always is with this series. Everything is always tied together, and is so complex. This book broke my heart. It broke every piece of it, and that is a damn good author that can do that, make you feel such sympathy for the characters.

Time to discuss romance! Oh boy, oh boy. Lucien and Elain, I wanted it to happen so badly. I was so glad that Elain had finally started healing, and accepting Lucien. Nesta and Cassian was something else entirely. I would not be surprised if they ended up to be mates, which I am pretty sure that they are. The fire, and fierce loyalty that burned between them was breathtaking. The sass and wit shared between the two, it lightened my heart.

Okay so, big plot twist, Mor is bisexual? I never saw that coming and I am surprised. I should have known Sarah could have spun that into this. There were always a lot of people hoping Mor and Azriel would end up together, but after 500 years of wanting, I do not think that was going to get them anywhere. I am glad they did not end up together.

Feyre and Rhysand make me cry every time I read about them. I know it sounds cliche, but their relationship just reminds me so much of my own, both through personality and physical descriptions. The way the author writes, you can feel the love between them. When they were reunited at last, I cried with Feyre as she held him. I could feel the relief and longing there. Sarah writes with such passion and emotion, it is hard not to be able to feel it. I loved every moment shared between these two in the book, and that ending. That horrible, heartbreaking ending. I could feel Feyre’s pain, that emptiness. I don’t think I will ever quite be able to feel as much of a bond between a fictional coupe as Feyre and Rhys.

I have nothing to say about when The Suriel died other than I could not imagine losing someone like that, and I aspire to be as good and wholesome of a person as Feyre was when she wished to be. Whenever Azriel told the story of Nephelle, I was in awe. I know it was legend within fiction, but the moral and point still stood. That was a beautiful and amazing story, and I will soon not forget it.

It was the perfect ending to a great series. Sarah deserves all the praise in the world. There were a lot of great parts to this, and maybe I will come back and edit this, but for now I cannot really get more thoughts out.

I have been honored to read this story. I want to thank Sarah for sharing this story with me, and the world. I have never read anything that contained so much beauty and emotion. Velaris, The City of Starlight, will always be my home that I dream of and wish upon, a place I one day hope the after-life could be modeled after. My place for wishing and hoping and dreaming. It will always be the home I run to when I need it. These characters will remain to be my friends, and my favourites. I will never forget this series, I do not think. Not when it gave so much hope to me and many others, to all us dreamers.

“To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

This was the most beautiful series I have ever read, and would highly suggest it to anyone, especially fans of high fantasy. I give this novel and series 5/5 stars.

For more reviews from readers of A Court of Wings and Ruin, click here.

Leave a Reply

