King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Title: King’s Cage

Author: Victoria Aveyard

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series Status: 3rd installment in the Red Queen series

Page Count: 528

Rating: 4/5 stars 

Synopsis: In this breathless third installment to Victoria Aveyard’s bestselling Red Queen series, allegiances are tested on every side. And when the Lightning Girl’s spark is gone, who will light the way for the rebellion?

Mare Barrow is a prisoner, powerless without her lightning, tormented by her lethal mistakes. She lives at the mercy of a boy she once loved, a boy made of lies and betrayal. Now a king, Maven Calore continues weaving his dead mother’s web in an attempt to maintain control over his country—and his prisoner.

As Mare bears the weight of Silent Stone in the palace, her once-ragtag band of newbloods and Reds continue organizing, training, and expanding. They prepare for war, no longer able to linger in the shadows. And Cal, the exiled prince with his own claim on Mare’s heart, will stop at nothing to bring her back.

When blood turns on blood, and ability on ability, there may be no one left to put out the fire—leaving Norta as Mare knows it to burn all the way down.

Review: This book has me just frustrated. This whole series always has, yet I keep carrying through with them. There are tons of things I hate about this, and tons of things I like. Glass Sword left off with a huge cliff-hanger, one that I was extremely happy with. I’m sorry, but in my opinion, Victoria Aveyard does not make good endings. They are always super anticlimactic, or just bleh. When I first started this series, I hated it. The first book had potential, and then it just went downhill. The second book, Mare became even more annoying and whiny, but the ending gave it life and redemption. I anticipated this book solely because of the ending to the Glass Sword.

I have always liked Maven. He is such a bad ass, and betrays everyone, and I really love it. I always wanted him and Mare to end up together, especially by the end of the last book. I originally hated Cal, and then he began to grow on me in this book. I am still Maven for end-game though.

I liked this a lot, although there were some parts of this that could be boring or hard to get through, I was satisfied with the amount of action and fighting scenes there were throughout. I have been wanting more of it in books, and this definitely satisfied that.

I like the addition of Cameron’s perspective, since I really liked her character in the second. She is the opposite end of Mare, I think, and I like that.

I grew to love Evangeline Samos. I always liked her, but I grew to be a huge fan of hers in this, and there are so many things that we discover about her that we never knew, and it really adds more depth into her character than just the “stuck-up, power-hungry princess”. She is probably my favourite character at this point, and I really hope to see a lot more of her in the next book in this series.

I expected a great ending. After the ending in Glass Sword, I was anticipating something amazing that went out with the same bang. Instead, I got this garbage ending. I was so disappointed and frustrated I literally threw my book. The only reason this is rated 4/5 stars and not 5/5 was because of that ending.

Overall though, this was a very good book that I enjoyed reading, and got through pretty fast.

I give this book 4/5 stars and would recommend it to fans of fantasy.

For more reviews from readers of King’s Cage, click here.

2 thoughts on “King’s Cage by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

