Windwitch by Susan Dennard

Title: Windwitch

Author: Susan Dennard

Publisher: Tor Teen

Series Status: 2nd addition in the Witchland series

Page Count: 384

Rating: 4.5/5 

Synopsis: Sometimes our enemies are also our only allies…

After an explosion destroys his ship, the world believes Prince Merik, Windwitch, is dead. Scarred yet alive, Merik is determined to prove his sister’s treachery. Upon reaching the royal capital, crowded with refugees, he haunts the streets, fighting for the weak—which leads to whispers of a disfigured demigod, the Fury, who brings justice to the oppressed.

When the Bloodwitch Aeduan discovers a bounty on Iseult, he makes sure to be the first to find her—yet in a surprise twist, Iseult offers him a deal. She will return money stolen from him, if he locates Safi. Now they must work together to cross the Witchlands, while constantly wondering, who will betray whom first?

After a surprise attack and shipwreck, Safi and the Empress of Marstok barely escape with their lives. Alone in a land of pirates, every moment balances on a knife’s edge—especially when the pirates’ next move could unleash war upon the Witchlands.

Review: This was incredible. I have been waiting for this to come out since I read the first book, Truthwitch, in August.  I read this within less than a week, which is pretty rough for me recently because of my packed schedule. That’s how good this was.

I cannot say it enough, I love Iseult. She is one of my favourite characters in this series. She is a Weaverwitch, and is supposed to remain calm no matter what, and struggles with this immensely. I also love Aeduan, and even more, I love them both together. I knew from the first book that something between them would happen and that they would be great together, and although nothing has actually happened, I can feel the tension building up.

I love all the characters honestly, except for maybe Cam. I don’t know what it is about her, but i never liked her. She is too sketchy, and while I like the addition of a transgender character in the book, I just hate her character itself.

The biggest thing I enjoy about Safi is her height. She is as tall as Prince Merik and I really like that. Today’s young adult novels have taken to adopting the same sort of main character. A young female, who is short and is sort of hidden and then discovers a magical gift of hers or her life is thrown completely off track and she becomes a heroine and leads some sort of rebellion. Safi is tall, not much curves, and has always had this power, has trained her whole life for everything that is thrown her way and is ready, and is not blinded by love. She is a great main character to follow.

I don’t know if the whole ordeal with Merik was supposed to be predictable or not, but I discovered it immediately. I figured out what happened to him easily, but the identity of the Shadow Man was a bit of a shocker to me. I was in disbelief. I knew there was something more to him, but I never suspected that. It makes sense, I should have known better.

I would have to say that the first book in this series was better, but I was not at all disappointed with this one, it was still amazing. I will be waiting anxiously for the next addition in this series to be released.

Overall, this was an amazing book that I enjoyed reading.

I give this book 4.5/5 stars and would highly recommend to fans of fantasy.

For more reviews from readers of Windwitch, click here.

Leave a Reply

