The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

Title: The Diabolic

Author: S.J. Kincaid

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Series Status: 1st novel in The Diabolic series

Page Count: 416

Rating: 4.5/5  

Synopsis: A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for. Nothing else.

For Nemesis, that person is Sidonia, heir to the galactic Senate. The two grew up side by side, and there’s no one Nemesis wouldn’t kill to keep her safe. But when the power-mad Emperor summons Sidonia to the Imperial Court as a hostage, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia.

She must become her.

Now one of the galaxy’s most dangerous weapons is masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced Senators’ children, and Nemesis must find within herself the one thing she’s been told she doesn’t have—humanity. With the Empire beginning to fracture and rebellion looming, that could be the one thing that saves her and the Empire itself.

Review: This was just amazing. There were so many aspects of this that I loved.

The characters were probably my favourite part of this. Nemesis is one of my favourite characters of all time. She was a living contradiction. I really enjoyed just the idea of a genetically modified human being, their sole purpose in their existence just to protect one human they are bonded to. Unfortunately, I hated Sidonia. I know she never wanted Nemesis to just be a creature designed to protect her, and to be any sort of slave, she wanted her to be her own person. I just did not like her one bit. I appreciated the love she had for Nemesis, but I just found here distasteful.

Nemesis and Tyrus, oh my gosh. I loved them together. I can’t even explain how much I enjoyed the romance aspect of this book. These two were such an unlikely couple, but they made the best power couple.

Some parts of this book I found to be predictable, but the best part was how. I would be able to predict something, but it happened in a way I would never have imagined it would.

I’m honestly a little concerned with where the next book is going. I was sort of expecting this to be a stand alone, but every novel now a days is a series. I just don’t know how the author is going to build off of this and continue, and it can either go very good or very bad. Nevertheless, I am excited to read the next installment in this series.

Overall, this was a very entertaining and enjoyable book, that I really liked.

I give this book 4.5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of science fiction, or any reader.

For more reviews from readers of The Diabolic, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

