The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

Title: The Midnight Star

Author: Marie Lu

Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Series Status: Final novel in The Young Elites trilogy

Page Count: 316

Rating: 5/5 stars 

Synopsis: There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all she’s gained.

When a new danger appears, Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds, putting not only herself at risk, but every Elite. In order to preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.

Review: This series has been one long roller coaster ride. I started this series years ago, and never expected it to continue on as a trilogy, I just assumed it would be a stand-alone. When I first started this series, I said that Marie Lu had found her calling by writing dark fantasy, and I was right. This series did not fail me or her, it was beautiful.

I will always love Adelina. I have always been drawn to her character, aligned with fear, fury, ambition, and passion. A combination that would surely doom her. She was filled with anger and born from darkness, the daughter of Fear and Fury, while her sister was the daughter of Empathy. Adelina is filled with this consuming hatred for all that have wronged her, which leads to death all around.

After the startling discovery about the Elites and their powers at the end of the last book, I had to read this. I could not wait to see what would happen, and I am happy with what did happen. This was a genius plot, forcing all the Elites that are enemies to have to come together and cooperate to save themselves and the world. I loved seeing all of them that hate each other have to save each others lives multiple times and fight with one another.

I loved the budding relationship between Magiano and Adelina. I loved them together from the very beginning, and to see something between them actually bloom, I loved it. I believe Marie Lu has a talent for writing beautiful novels, and including beautiful romances that don’t take over the plot and cloud the protagonists vision.

There is not much else I have to say about this book, other than the ending was tragic and beautiful and I never expected it, but it makes sense now that I think of it. It seems like a fitting ending.

This novel is dark and bloody, and pure evil and madness written. An insane protagonist that is an antihero, who has been damaged too many times, and loved too little. I liked how the story was ended with a folktale of Adelina, the white wolf who was both a cruel queen and a courageous hero,

Overall, this was a great book, and an amazing ending for a beautiful series.

I give this novel 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of Marie Lu and dark fantasy.

For more reviews from readers of The Midnight Star, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

