Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Title: Gemina

Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers

Series Status: 2nd addition to the Illuminae Files series

Page Count: 659

Rating: 5/5 stars Synopsis: Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminaecontinues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and theHypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Review: Now before I start, you must know I have been anxiously waiting for this to come out for a year. I had insanely high expectations for this, and it met every single one of them.

Although I had originally hoped that the story would pick with Kady and Ezra’s story, I am so glad it didn’t. I found reading about Hanna far more interesting than Kady’s. In Illuminae, I found the protagonist to be mostly annoying and whiny, until the last 200 pages of the book. In this, I loved Hanna. I am not sure what it was about her, but she was so sassy and hardcore, even though she was a rich little daddy’s girl, I loved it.

The only issue I had with this was the fact that the characters seemed very similar to the characters in Illuminae, although I guess it was designed that way, because the characters often compare Hanna to Kady quite often.

There is so much more to this book then it seems, and I loved it. So in the first book in this series, it is an epic space-race for safety after a planet or whatever was attacked, and then of course you throw in an infectious virus that turns people to zombies and a crazy AI. Sounds awesome, right? Nothing compared to the series of events that takes place within this amazing piece of literature. A rich daddy’s girl, a charming felon, a physically disabled teenage computer genius, a father wanting to see his daughter, and a team of bloodthirsty criminals looking for revenge and money. Not to mention the alien parasites that get you high before they eat you, and a race against time to restore peace in the universes.

I loved the addition of the multiverse theory. I have always been fascinated with this, and like to believe it exists, and adding it into this book made me so incredibly happy. A wormhole that was used incorrectly and caused a tear in space. The wormhole and parallel universe was a great addition into this, and it made it so much more interesting to read. I was hoping with the title being Gemina that something like this would be included.

The romance, oh the romance. I had a hate and love relationship with the romance in this book. I am just very glad that it included no ridiculous love triangle. The romance was sweet and thoughtful and beautiful at times, some absolutely devastating moments it gave me hope

*SPOILER* The part whenever Nik died to get Hanna’s journal, that broke my heart. I cried and cried, because even though they are not in love yet, that was done out of love because they were such good friends. It was the sweetest thing I have ever read. It was all okay in the end though. I knew as soon as they were receiving to different transmissions from the same Heimdall what was going on, but I was unsure of whether the correct Nik was still alive or not, and I am so glad that he was. But that entire moment broke me. t takes great writing for me to feel what that character was feeling, but my heart was breaking for her and I could feel the sorrow and hate and dread she felt. *SPOILER*

Overall, this was an incredible book that I enjoyed reading so much I read it in one day.

I give this novel 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of science fiction or fantasy.

For more reviews from readers of Gemina, click here.

2 thoughts on “Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. femaleinferno says:

    I’m so jealous! You got to read ‘Gemina.’ I’m still waiting for my copy to arrive *silently cursing our slow postal system* It’s got me even more excited : that I may tear it out of the packaging like Christmas is here, lock myself in my room, ignoring the world, until I get to the last page. Hopefully satisfied… and a quiet craving for chocolate.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

