WWW Wednesday (October 26)

WWW Wednesday

Hello, and welcome to WWW Wednesday! This is a weekly meme hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words.

The three W’s are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What have you recently read?
  3. What do you plan on reading next?

To join in on the fun, just answer these three questions in a post, and comment the link to that post at Taking on a World of Words.

The cover of each book will link back to its Goodreads url. 


WHAT I AM CURRENTLY READING:

28588345 The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

I have been waiting a year for this book to come out, ever since the second novel in the trilogy, The Rose Society, came out last fall. I love Marie Lu as an author, and I have waited long enough for this. I was expecting something maybe a bit larger, because it is sort of small and I feel as if I will breeze right through this thing and not enjoy it as much. I have just started it and it is fantastic so far. It has a very strong, solid start, that has me absolutly enthralled in it within the first couple of paragraphs, which is very hard to actually do. I expect to be finished with this by the end of the weekend, and I will have a review up soon afterwards.

22299763Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I have only gotten a few pages into this, but from what I have read, it is brilliant. This is another one of those books that I have been waiting for for a year. If you are a big book nerd, then you will remember September-December of 2015. It was huge months for young adult book releases, and most of what was released were all sequels. The first book in this duology, Six of Crows, was released last October and I loved it. I hope I am not disappointed with this one, because my expectations are pretty high from the first book. I’m not sure when I will have this finished, but I will have a book review up for it when I do.


WHAT I HAVE RECENTLY FINISHED:

28260587Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

This was one of the best books I have ever read in my entire life. I loved this book more than I can express. I honestly love Sarah J. Maas and her writing so much. The characters that she writes about keep me so interested in the books, and the plot as well, and this book was no exception. This book gave me so many mixed emotions. There were so many kick-ass fantastic battle scenes that actually gave me goosebumps, made me cry and feel as if I was there, fighting with Aelin and her squadre against all the villains. There were steamy, beautiful moments that made me appreciate the added romance. There is so much more to say about this book, but I have already said all I could. You can read my full review here.

27190613And I Darken by Kiersten White

I just finished this book about a week ago, and it was solidly one of the best historical fiction novels I have ever read. I love historical fiction. I wish it was the most popular genre for young adult, and maybe it will be one day. Dystopian/apocalyptic had it’s run, and now we are onto fantasy. I will wait with patience until my day comes in which historical fiction booms. But back to the book, this was fantastic. It was gritty, twisted, evil, and beautiful all at the same time. Ladislav Dragwyla is one of my all-time favourite main characters, because she is so confused and evil ad treacherous, and yet she still cares. You can see my full review by clicking here.


WHAT I PLAN ON READING NEXT:

28512486Frost Like Night by Sara Raasch

This is just another one of those books that I have been waiting on for a year. Ice Like Fire was released last November, and I have been waiting for the last one in the trilogy to come out. Whenever this series was first released, I fell in love with it and it became one of my favourite series of all time. Since then it has been demoted a couple 15 times, but it still remains as one of my favourite fantasy series. Now that everything has been going the way I want it to in this series romantically, I am all on board for this book and I am so pumped to read it.

29236299Gemina by Jay Kristoff and Amie Kaufman

Look at that, yet another book that I have been waiting on for a year. Illuminae, the first book in this series, was released last October and it was one of my highly anticipated reads, and it did not disappoint me. The format, layout, and structure of this book is amazing. It is told through a series of interviews, online chats, surveillance cameras, and other things like that. I was one of the best science fiction books I have read. I am not a huge fan of this genre, but this one had me completely enthralled in the story. I actually got my cousin to read this and he is waiting to get it as well.


Have you read/are reading any of these? Let me know what you thought about them!

 

One thought on “WWW Wednesday (October 26)

  1. Sam says:

    Wow, a lot of sequels! I didn’t realize so many YA sequels were coming out this time of year. Getting ready for the holidays, huh? 🙂 Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

