Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Empire of Storms

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Series Status: 5th novel in the Throne of Glass series

Page Count: 693

Rating: 5/5 stars Synopsis: The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those who don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

Review: THERE WILL BE MANY SPOILERS AHEAD; PROCEED WITH CAUTION.

This was one of the best books that I have ever read in my entire life. Everything about this was great. There are so many things that I want to say about this book, and so many emotions and feelings I got from reading it.

First, the plot. It has been like a week since I read it, and it is still racing through my mind all the time. Sarah J. Maas set this entire series up so beautifully, and it is just one big intricate web that weaved together perfectly. The whole race to get the wyrd keys and find the lock before time ran out was so interesting and it had me completely hooked. I really enjoyed the inclusion of Elena Galathynius and Gavin Havilliard’s stories in this book. There was more that was revealed from Aelin and Dorian’s ancestors, and it really interested me.

Oh, the romance! I was so excited for more romance and relationships, and all my hopes and dreams came true. Manon and Dorian had moments which made me very happy, especially when she risked everything to save him. I also really liked Elide and Lorcan together, it made me absolutely adore Lorcan. Also, there was some tension and budding romance between Aedion and Lysandra and I am very excited to see if it goes anywhere.

The saddest part of this entire book was the ending. Even though the ending was sad and unbelievable, I loved it. I thought it was a genius addition on Sarah’s part. I cried, and cried reading it, and then I just was in disbelief of Aelin’s sacrifice. She knew that Lorcan had summoned Maeve, if only for the hope of saving his beloved Elide. She knew that they were running out of time and that she would be taken by Maeve so she worked it all out. She called upon so many people, and when the armies showed up to help, so many of them, I could not believe it. She married Rowan because she knew Terrasen would need a king to rule once she was gone. I was in awe of her sacrifice. They whipped her so many times and she still refused to count, and she just took it, over and over, to ensure that Elide and nobody else would be harmed, and she still managed to make sure Maeve didn’t have the wyrdkeys. And when Maeve explained that Aelin and Rowan were actually mates, and that she made Rowan believe that Lyria was his mate, and broke him just to ensure that Aelin would succumb to Maeve’s will, I could not believe it.

One of the most exciting parts was whenever all of Rowan’s cousins turned on Maeve’s army and fought for Rowan and his queen. And whenever The Thirteen flew in and started attacking Maeve’s army, it was so epic and it was just a great battle scene to be honest. One of the best that I have ever read.

It feels like the first 2 books out of this series are completely different from the other 3. I reread the entire series this year, and they just feel so alarmingly different, but you can feel Sarah’s writing grow more powerful along with Aelin’s spirit in the book.

I am beyond excited for the next book in this series, but I am also very sad because I know it is the end. There is only one more to come, and I am trying to make it last.

Overall, this was a fantastic book and I am eagerly awaiting the next in this series.

I give this novel 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of Sarah J. Maas, high fantasy, or anyone in general.

For more reviews from readers of Empire of Storms, click here.

One thought on “Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

