A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Series Status: Second novel in A Court of Thorns and Roses trilogy

Page Count: 640

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

Review: I’m not going to lie. This is going to be very long, because this book was amazing. I have read amazing pieces of work by many authors, especially Sarah, but I have encountered nothing like this. This was art and emotion and action put into words that I never thought somebody could manage to do. There were so many amazing parts about this book that I need to talk about. There will be spoilers, so if you have not read this book yet, I would highly suggest not reading my review lest it ruin the book for you.

If there is one thing that matters in this, it is funking CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT. The character growth that happens to Feyre in this is beautiful. It was well-paced and you could really see the change in her. Feyre’s journey to self-acceptance and repairing herself is amazing. I loved reading about it.

I loved Tamlin in ACOTAR. I adored him, I really did. However, I hated him in this book. There is nobody that I hated more than him, not even Amarantha. The sad part is that Tamlin didn’t even change at all, I just opened my eyes like Feyre did to who exactly he actually is, which is a territorial, rude, prick.

I honestly wished I could have gotten to see more of Lucien in this, because even though he has done some considerably regrettable things, I still have always liked him. I found him to be a very interesting character and I liked his back story. I also wish I could have gotten more insight on all the courts in this novel, even more than was given.

Rhysand. I love Rhysand. I have adored him since he was first introduced into the series, and have always preferred him over everybody else. To be able to learn more aobut him and his family was one of my favourite things about the story. Also, Feyre and Rhysand’s relationship is beautiful. I love how they are mates.

I would like to take this time to point out that I was RIGHT. If you follow me on Goodreads, you might have seen that I wrote out a huge prediction of how I believed Feyre and Rhysand were actually mates and the moment at the end of ACOTAR where Rhysand jumped back from her in surprise was the connection clicking into place for him, but not her. A lot of other people were saying it was Rhysand realizing her true power and that she was a fury, but I stuck with the mate theory and I was actually correct, and I am very proud of myself.

I love how Feyre left a toxic relationship for herself, not for another guy. I love how she took her own time to get better and to repair herself.

Rhysand’s family was probably one of my favourite additions into this. Amren was definitely my favourite out of the group, and I’m not sure why. I found her very menacing in a petite, lovely way. I found Azriel to be very interesting as well. His deadly silence was something I found intriguing and I want to know even more about him.

I enjoyed how Feyre’s family tied into everything and especially with Elaine and Lucien. I had a feeling that Cassian would be mates with Nesta, but instead it turned out being Lucian and Elaine! I was very shocked and pleased at the same time. Honestly, I feel like they would be a lovely couple.

Also, Nesta and Elaine are faeries now! I cannot contain my excitement about this. They are immortals along with Feyre! I want to hear more about Feyre’s father, because I do not trust him at all. Something is off about him, and I want to know what he is up to.

Overall, this was a beautifully written book that I loved. I cannot wait for the last book in the trilogy to be released.

I give this novel 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of high fantasy and Sarah J. Maas.

Leave a Reply

