Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Title: Passenger

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Publisher: Disney-Hyperion

Series Status: 1st novel in the Passenger series.

Page Count: 496

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis: passage, n.
i. A brief section of music composed of a series of notes and flourishes.
ii. A journey by water; a voyage.
iii. The transition from one place to another, across space and time.

In one devastating night, violin prodigy Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has traveled not just miles but years from home. And she’s inherited a legacy she knows nothing about from a family whose existence she’s never heard of. Until now.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods—a powerful family in the colonies—and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go so easily. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, Nicholas’ passenger, can find. In order to protect her, he must ensure she brings it back to them— whether she wants to or not.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveler who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to the truth of their search, and the deadly game the Ironwoods are play­ing, treacherous forces threaten to sep­arate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home . . . forever.

Review: I loved this. I thought it was absolutely brilliant. Everything about this was amazing and wonderfully written.

If you know me, you would know that I love historical fiction, it is my favourite genre. I don’t nearly read as much of it as I would like to, but I love it. This was the perfect cup of historical fiction I was looking for. I have also wanted to live in an time period that was before the 60’s, and this traveled throughout all of them. Not only do I love historical fiction, but I am a history buff, and to hear the characters talk about all these historical events was wonderful. Not only is this historical fiction, but it also includes time travel, one of my favourite plot device’s there is.

I loved the romance between Etta and Nicholas, I thought that it was beautiful. Especially because Nicholas is black, and Etta is white. Nicholas is so uncomfortable with the color of his skin, and the fact that him and Etta should not be allowed to love each other in his time period. What is even more beautiful is that a girl from 2015 and a boy from 1776 fell in love, even though that shouldn’t be possible. Time travel makes everything that is impossible, possible I guess.

I loved Nicholas, I found him to be a very interesting character. I loved that he kept stressing to everyone that he was a legal pirate, it had me laughing so hard. I also found it really interesting that he was a pirate, I don’t think I have ever read anything quite like that, and I really enjoyed it.

*SPOILER* Also, the part where he ran through the water fountain in France, I laughed so hard at that. It was so contradicting to his previous statement to not draw any attention, I thought it was hilarious. Until what happens afterwards, that kind of broke my heart. *SPOILER*

There was never a dull moment in this book. It just kept going and going, until you’re not quite sure what else could happen. From constantly running from the Ironwoods, to running into Alice and Rose, to trying to fit in with the new century and country they travel to.

I really loved the concept of time travel in this. It was so different from anything I had ever heard before, and I really liked that when you went through a passage, it didn’t just send you to another time, it sent you to a different location as well, but the same day. It was really interesting and I loved reading about it.

The only thing I did not like was that it felt like Etta got a little side-tracked and distracted when it came to Nicholas, like she completely forgot that she had a deadline before her mother would be harmed or worse. Nicholas was more of the one that had the clear head, even if he did have wandering thoughts about her, he kept his priorities straight most of the time. But I do not blame Etta, I think I might get a bit distracted as well, with how I imagine Nicholas looks. Whew.

Also, I love the name Etta, that is just beautiful, and so is her full name, Henrietta.

Speaking of beautiful things, can we talk about that cover? That thing is gorgeous, probably the prettiest cover I have ever seen for a book. And it really captured the story in it as well. I just want to take it and make it into a painting to hang on my wall, it is that beautiful!

Another thing, this was such a drastic change from what Alex Bracken has previously written. Her other series, The Darkest Minds trilogy, was so much different. It was more of a dystopian kind of novel, and this is historical fiction. Hats off to Alex for making such two different genres work. It takes a lot of talent as an author to write such two contrasting things and make both of them amazing. But I have to say, I enjoyed this one more, but that is because I am biased toward this genre.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book and I loved every second of it.

I give this novel 4.5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction.

For more reviews from readers of Passenger, click here.

4 thoughts on “Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

Leave a Reply

