Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Gathering Darkness

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Publisher: Razorbill

Series Status: 3rd novel in the Falling Kingdoms series

Page Count: 407

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: Love, vengeance, and greed spark a deadly quest for magic in the third book of the Falling Kingdoms series

Prince Magnus has just witnessed torture, death, and miracles during the bloody confrontation that decimated the rebel forces. Now he must choose between family and justice as his father, the cruel King Gaius, sets out to conquer all of Mytica. All Gaius needs now are the Kindred—the four elemental crystals that give godlike powers to their owner. But the King of Blood is not the only one hunting for this ancient, storied magic. . . .

THE KRAESHIANS join the hunt. Ashur and Amara, the royal siblings from the wealthy kingdom across the Silver Sea, charm and manipulate their way to the Kindred, proving to be more ruthless than perhaps even the King of Blood himself.

THE REBELS forge ahead. Princess Cleo and vengeful Jonas lead them, slaying with sweetness, skill, and a secret that can control Lucia’s overpowering magic—all so they can use the Kindred to win back their fallen kingdoms.

THE WATCHERS follow Melenia out of the Sanctuary. They ally in the flesh with King Gaius, who vows to use Lucia’s powers to unveil the Kindred.

The only certainty in these dark times is that whoever finds the magic first will control the fate of Mytica. . . . but the four element gods of the Kindred have other plans.

Review: I don’t even know how to comprehend this all. A fair warning, there will be spoilers in this at certain parts, but I will warn you.

Everything I wanted to happen in this book did, and also a few things I did not want to.

Morgan’s writing is brilliant, as are her books. They suck you in, and you cannot stop. I stayed up until about 3 am reading this, just because I simply had to finish.

I loved all the characters even more than I did before, especially Magnus. I have always loved him, but he really grew in this book. His road to basically deciding who he wanted to be in this was amazing. His hate for his father grew, as did his heart.

I really liked how Nic was included more in this, I adore his character, and I enjoyed being able to read more about him in this one, and also Prince Ashur. He had me curious from when he first appeared, and his relationship with Nic was really nice.

Felix was quite the interesting character to add into this. I had no idea what was going on with him the entire time, until it is finally revealed. I was so confused with who he really was, and I did not fully trust him, although I feel I should have. Some people come from a dark past, but do not have a dark future, and I realized this along with Jonas.

Speaking of Jonas, I was so happy with him. It was good to see him have a friend like Felix after all that has happened, and him risking his neck to save Lysandra was lovely.

Cleo, oh my. She is so strong and brave, I do not know how she does it. Her and Magnus have always been my favourite characters, and she became so smart in this. I wish her and Lucia would have stayed friends, they would have made an amazing group.

*SPOILER* I have been rooting for Cleo and Magnus ever since the first book, after he killed Theon, whom I never liked. To see them grow feelings for each other in this made me so happy, they would be such an amazing power couple. I know some people may not like this, because after all, he did kill her lover, but I don’t think Theon was right for her. His death was tragic, but Magnus has learned and grown. I cannot even express how happy I am they have basically become a couple. I am so good at choosing the right ships. *SPOILER*

Lucia and Alexius made me so happy in this, I loved to see Lucia with someone that made her happy and tried to keep her in the light, instead of letting the darkness of her elementia destroy her. Plus, Alexius sounds super hot to me and that’s always great.

There was literally never a dull moment in this, it was so action packed, and so much was happening all at once, I loved it.

Overall, this was a great book, and I really enjoyed it. As the series goes on, the books just keep getting better and better.

I give this book 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of fantasy.

For more reviews from readers of Gathering Darkness, click here.

Leave a Reply

