Frozen Tides by Morgan Rhodes

Title: Frozen Tides

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Publisher: Razorbill

Series Status: 4th novel in the Falling Kingdoms series

Page Count: 400

Rating: 5/5 stars

Synopsis: Rebels, royals, and monsters wage war over the Mytican throne in the shocking fourth book of the Falling Kingdoms series, from New York Times bestselling author Morgan Rhodes.

CLEO: Reeling after a bloody showdown in Limeros ending with Amara’s abduction of the water crystal, and a vacancy in the Mytican throne, Princess Cleo must cast aside her feelings and look toward her kingdom with the eyes of a Queen.

MAGNUS: With the kingdom in chaos, Princess Lucia still missing and quite possibly in danger, and a shocking realization about Cleo, the steely prince is once again torn between love and duty, leaving him wondering whether he’s strong enough to rule his people.

LUCIA: The young sorcercess has had her vengeance after the cruel death of her first and only love. Heartbroken and unable to trust anyone, she allies with the awoken Fire god, who also seeks revenge.

JONAS: After escaping death by the skin of his teeth, the defeated rebel—along with a mysterious stranger–leader reunites with Princess Cleo, only to find himself a mere pawn in a dangerous hunt for the elusive Kindred.

KING GAIUS: Abandoned by Melenia and betrayed by his own children, Gaius flees Mytica and sails to Kraeshia, where he attempts to ally with the famously brutal emperor across the Silver Sea.

Review: There are so many things I have to say about this book. Everything that I wanted to happen did, and I am so happy with how everything turned out, except a select few things. There will be spoilers in this, and to see them you just have to highlight the space between the spoiler warning.

First, let’s talk about the writing. I love the writing of this book, of this entire series. None of it ever feels forced, which I sometimes get that feeling from other books, but not this one. The plot as well is great, and the way everything comes together from other books in the series.

Lucia became super badass in this book, which I liked, but also didn’t. Her new friend, Kyan, kind of tainted her in a way, and so did Alexius. Lucia would be such a good character if she was a little badass, but not to the point of destroying villages and hurting innocent people.

I felt very bad for Jonas in this, due to several events that take place. I have always had rocky feelings about Jonas, not quite sure how to feel about him. I feel in this one, he kind of shaped up and became a better person.

I adore Felix. He was always so sassy and saracastic, like a lighter version of Magnus. I really liked his relationship with Princess Amara, but the things he had to endure in this book, I felt so bad for him. I could never be as strong as half these characters are.

*SPOILER* Oh man, Cleo and Magnus in this book. I could not handle it. At the end of Gathering Darkness, I was sure they were going to become a couple. Then at the beginning of this one, Magnus does everything he can to deny his feelings for Cleo, and Cleo just decides to be frustrating. But I guess I am glad, because it only built up the tension and suspension. But whenever they finally admitted their love for each other, I think I may have died. I don’t think anybody can ever understand how much I ship this couple. There are still more books left in this series, and I am so scared that one of them is going to die, I cannot handle it. *SPOILER*

Overall, I loved everything about this. I’m kind of sad I finished it because I now have to wait a while before the next addition in the novel comes out, but it is worth the wait.

I give this novel 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of fantasy.

For more revies from readers of Frozen Tides, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

