December Wrap Up

 

December was a really good reading month for me! I did not think that I was going to get very much reading done, what with the holidays, but I did a lot more than I was expecting! The title and cover of each book will link back to my review on it. 


18081809Landline by Rainbow Rowell

This was a great book to read this month, considering that it took place during the week of Christmas. This is probably my favourite Rainbow Rowell book, which is a very unpopular opinion. There was just something surrounding this romance that had me in love with it. I would highly recommend reading it, especially to fans of Rainbow that have not read it, but don’t have super high expectations.

 


3Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

I haven’t read this in about 7 years, so I thought I would read it again, especially since it is one of the best series to read around this time of the year. I, of course, enjoyed it immensely. I love the Harry Potter series, and I forgot how much better the books are than the movies. There is so much more lightness and humor incorporated into it, that was never really fully portrayed in the movies. If you have not read this, you have to.

 


10507293The Selection by Kiera Cass

I put off reading this series for a long time and figured I would start it and was surprised with it. I was not sure if I would like it that much or not, but I really enjoyed it! It wasn’t anything extraordinary, but it kept me wanting more, and it kept me reading it all in one day. It is a very quick read, and really enjoyable.

 

 


16248068The Elite by Kiera Cass

This was also a really enjoyable book. Although the main character becomes even more frustrating and indecisive than she already is, it is still good. It is a very quick read just like the first, and the romance is just perfect.

 

 

 


18635016The One by Kiera Cass

I think that this was probably my favourite out of all three of the first in the series. The competition becomes more fierce, and the romance between America and Maxon just grows. The character and relationship growth in this is really what makes the book superb. I really enjoyed it, although I don’t think I will continue on with the series. This was a satisfying enough end for me to not carry on with it.

 


winterWinter by Marissa Meyer

The hype that was surrounding this book was what originally made me pick up the first one in the series, and I am so glad that I did. This book was amazing!  This entire series was amazing, and I was so sad when I finished this, it was so bittersweet to me. It was a beautiful retelling, and this was an amazing ending to the series. I’m not sure I will ever get over it. I highly recommend picking this series up.


8621462A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

I finally got around to reading this, and it was beautiful. It was inspiring and powerful, and sad. I won’t be able to say powerful enough to describe just how powerful this actually is. It is a very quick read, so I highly suggest picking it up, you could finish it in one day. I cannot wait for the movie to come out so my mom doesn’t have to tease me anymore for crying my eyes out after reading this, she can witness it for herself.

 


25987654Ugly by Margaret McHeyzer

This book was not at all what I was expecting, and not in a good way. Maybe I had too high of expectations of this book, but it was just not a very good read for me. There were so many aspects that felt fake to me, and not at all portrayed correctly. I honestly, would not recommend this to anyone.

 

 


15863832Angelfall by Susan Ee

I can’t believe I have not read this sooner! Several friends recommended this to me, and I decided to pick it up and I loved it. The main character in this was an extremely rare character to come by, one who knows her priorities. The plot of this is just genius. An agnostic angel, angels slaughtering humans, children being taken by angels. All of it was brilliant, and I would highly recommend reading it.

 


8428140Trapped by Michael Northrop

This book was okay. I had some good expectations for it, but it kind of let me down. The plot device used for this has such potential, but it became bogged down with stupid high school drama. The ending also felt quite anticlimactic. It is a very quick read though, and I enjoyed it.

 

 


27866667In Place of Never by Julie Anne Lindsey

I was really surprised with this. I was not expecting a lot from it, considering the synopsis didn’t leave me that intrigued, but I figured I would give it a go, and I really enjoyed it. There were so many powerful and lovely aspects to this, and it was not at all what I thought it would be. It hasn’t been released yet, but when it is, I would highly suggest picking it up and giving it a go.

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? Tell me what you thought about them!

6 thoughts on “December Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

