Ugly by Margaret McHeyzer

Title: Ugly

Author: Margaret McHeyzer

Series Status: Standalone

Page Count: 346

Rating: 2/5 stars

Synopsis: If I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to see. If I were dead, I wouldn’t be able to feel. If I were dead, he’d never raise his hand to me again. If I were dead, his words wouldn’t cut as deep as they do. If I were dead, I’d be beautiful and I wouldn’t be so…ugly. I’m not dead…but I wish I was.

*I generously received a free copy by the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

Review: This was not at all what I was expecting, to be honest. I was expecting something incredibly moving and inspirational. This was not what I wanted.

Honestly, I hate writing bad reviews for books I have been given, especially for free.

Domestic abuse is a very serious issue, and to write about it can either guarantee it being really good, or really bad. While I had high expectations for this book, it felt unrealistic at certain parts. The way the author portrayed this specific abuse felt fake, and I was so disappointed.

The main character and side characters felt extremely immature and childish at certain points, even though they are supposed to be in their mid-to-late-twenties. The conversation between the characters often felt forced, and the writing style was just not what I like.

I feel like this could have been shorter, a lot of nothing happens that could have been easily taken out. I literally had to force myself to finish this, because it was so boring at times.

Overall, this was not a great book, but it was not horrible either. It was interesting at points, and boring at others.

I give this novel 2/5 stars and would not recommend it to anyone.

For more reviews from readers of Ugly, click here.

 

One thought on “Ugly by Margaret McHeyzer

Leave a Reply

