Top Ten Tuesday #3 | Best Books Read in 2015

toptentuesday
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke and the Bookish. This weeks theme is Top Ten Best Books I Read in 2015.

The cover of each book will link back to its Goodreads, and if I have done a review on the book, its title will link to that review.


a court of thorns and roses A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

I love Sarah’s writing, and I also love fairy-tale themed novels, as well as re-telling’s, so this was perfect for me. I honestly cannot decide which series of hers I like more.


Cinder, Scarlet, Cress, and Winter by Marissa Meyer

The hype that surrounded Winter was what made me get Cinder, and I am very glad. Someone should have told me what I was missing out on! This series was a beautiful and wonderful blend of fairy-tale re-telling, fantasy, and science fiction.


18006496 Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

I was so ecstatic when this was released and I finally got it. It was large as well, around 600 pages! A lot of stuff was happening throughout this, and the character growth was great. I feel like everything that happened in this is setting it up for the next addition in the series, and I cannot wait for it!


The Grisha trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

This was recommended to me by a friend who loved it, and while I wasn’t a huge fan of this series, I still really enjoyed it. The world that surrounded the characters was very interesting to read about, and I really like the idea of the small science, where “like calls to like”.


Six of Crows Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I am really glad I read Leigh’s other series before this one, otherwise I would have been set up for disappointment. I loved everything about this, and I think it is so much better than the Grisha Trilogy. It really filled a gap for me where crime fiction is. You can read so many detective novels, but rarely do you get one that follows the criminals, who are actually criminals, not just hero’s set up against a corrupt society labeled as criminals.


Snow Like Ashes and Ice like Fire by Sara Raasch

I am really enjoying this series. I am so glad with the direction everything is heading in, and I cannot wait for the release of the final novel next year!


The Young Elites and The Rose Society by Marie Lu

Every single reader should be familiar with Marie Lu, being the fact that she wrote one of the best young adult dystopian novels, in my opinion. Her Legend trilogy is amazing, but I feel she really found her talent when writing dark fantasy. I adored this series. The main character that we follow, is an anti-hero, and a villain. I love the idea of it, and the world she spun in this series is wonderful, along with all of the characters.


The Selection, The Elite, and The One by Kiera Cass

I had been putting this off for a while, but I finally got around to reading it last week, and it was wonderful. There was nothing spectacular about it, but I found myself craving more of it. I really enjoyed it, although I don’t plan on finishing the series, at least not this year, or very soon.


Carry On Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

I had to decide which one of Rainbow’s books I would put in this list, either Carry On or Landline. While I enjoyed Landline a lot more, and it is my favorite of hers, I must admit that the plot and writing of Carry On was better. Almost a spin-off of Harry Potter, but not quite, this novel was remarkable. I also really like the idea in this that the magic was all in the words. The words was what held the magic, and that was an interesting concept to me. The characters in this were lovely, and so was the plot. I feel like Rainbow’s writing has really grown.


All Our Yesterdays All Our Yesterdays by Cristin Terrill

There are so many books that I would like to put in this slot, but honestly, it would have to be this one.

I have never read a novel like this, that is about time travel. This is such a hard concept to write about and make it work, I think, and the author did a great job with it. I was delightedly surprised with how immersed I was in this novel. It was amazing, and to be able to read the same character’s point of view from two different points in time was amazing and interesting. If you have not read this, you need to, immediately.

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday #3 | Best Books Read in 2015

Leave a Reply

