The One by Kiera Cass

Title: The One

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series Status: The 3rd novel in The Selection series

Page Count: 323

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis: The time has come for one winner to be crowned.

When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants.

Review: Oh my goodness. I was really surprised with this book, and I have a lot of things to say about it.

I loved how the rebels were included more in this book. From the very beginning I have wanted more insight on them, and this book provided it. It showed their causes and goals, and they even began to work together in a way.

I was happy to see that America made the right choice in this book. She was so frustrating throughout the others, but she sort of grew up a bit in this one.

My absolute favorite part of this book was the character growth. Especially the relationship between the Elites. It was so nice to see them all get along and become each other’s best friends. I also loved Celeste’s character growth.

There were so many parts in this book that made me laugh and cry, and had me on the edge of my seat for once. It was a very quick read for me, and I loved the romance in it, although the love triangle was ever so exhausting, but America came to her senses.

The only thing I disliked in this book was the epilogue. It was lovely, but it kind of felt like I was reading a fanfiction. I really did not like that. Other than that, I felt this was overall a really good book.

I give this novel 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of romance and dystopia.

For more reviews from readers of The One, click here.

3 thoughts on “The One by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

