The Elite by Kiera Cass

Title: The Elite

Author: Kiera Cass

Publisher: HarperTeen

Series Status: The 2nd novel in The Selection series

Page Count: 336

Rating: 4/5 stars

Synopsis: The Selection began with thirty-five girls.
Now with the group narrowed down to the six Elite, the competition to win Prince Maxon’s heart is fiercer than ever—and America is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it with Maxon, who could make her life a fairy tale? Or with her first love, Aspen?

America is desperate for more time. But the rest of the Elite know exactly what they want—and America’s chance to choose is about to slip away.

Review: I have a lot of things I want to say about this book. This was also very enjoyable and captivating, I really liked it, except for a few things.

America is the most indecisive and annoying girl I have ever read about. She cannot choose between Aspen and Maxon, when the obvious choice is Maxon. Aspen is also very annoying to me. He tries to convince America that Maxon is nothing but a fake, when he doesn’t truly even know him. Aspen needs to just go away, and leave America alone. Also, I really hate Celeste. I think everyone does, though.

Prince Maxon is also just a tad frustrating. I wish he would just leave Kriss. I can understand that he does not have complete faith in America, but can he not tell that every moment he spends with Kriss breaks another bit of her heart off? In that sense he is a bit inconsiderate, because he has to make sure he has a “back-up”. When you are in love, you don’t need a back-up, even if you don’t have complete faith in your to-be-fiancée.

Basically, every character in this series is a mess and very frustrating, but you cannot stop reading because it leaves you wanting more. You have to know what happens next.

I was happy that it focused some more on the rebels, in this book though. I have been waiting to hear a bit more from them, and I finally got a little bit more information about them, and I hope even more is included about them in the next.

I give this novel 4/5 stars and would recommend it to fans of romance and dystopia.

For more reviews from readers of The Elite, click here.

3 thoughts on “The Elite by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

