The Selection by Kiera Cass

Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Series Status: The 1st novel in The Selection series

Publisher: HarperTeen

Page Count: 336

Rating: 4.5/5 stars

Synopsis: For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


 

Review: This was a very quick read for me. It kept me wanting more, I could not put it down, and I’m not quite sure why. There is nothing particularly amazing about this book. It doesn’t blow your mind, and it doesn’t have you on the edge of your seat, but it leaves you wanting more. Maybe it is the romance, or the ever-so-frustrating love triangle, or maybe it is the imagined society that feels so vaguely familiar to me? I’m not quite sure, but I really enjoyed it. It was so close to being 5 stars, but I found America to be frustrating and annoying at times. I really wanted to hear more about her music, since that was what she grew up doing, but I never got that. Another thing, can Aspen not? He needs to defenestrate himself or something, I am sick of him messing with America’s head and weaseling his way in whenever he should not be. If he had any shred of love for her, he would just let her be, even if she wants him. In the end, it would be better for herself. I really am a huge fan of Prince Maxon, and I have a very strong urge to squeeze his biceps, because they must be rather firm and strong. Enough of my daydreaming, back to business.  This was a very entertaining novel, and I have The Elite sitting on my bookshelf, tempting me to open it up and devour it. I think I just might any moment.

I give this novel 4.5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to fans of contemporary romance, or anyone.

For more reviews from readers of The Selection, click here.

4 thoughts on “The Selection by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

