25 Days of Blogging #3

untitled

*If you believe in Santa Claus, do not continue reading*

This question makes me kind of sad, because I wish I still was a child who was so innocent to believe there was a fat old man who delivered presents to good boys and girls across the world.

I was rather young when I figured out Santa Claus was all just a lie. I was around 8 years old. I had figured it out because Santa Claus had very similar writing to my mothers, and the stockings always had new candy, not old traditional kinds. I soon realized that Santa Claus had the exact same handwriting as my mother, and this made me start to doubt whether he was real, or just a fun lie told for children’s enjoyment.

I put the pieces together soon enough, and I just kept it a secret that I knew the truth. Each Christmas I acted as if he was real with the enthusiasm my mother would expect from a child. After all, I still had a little sister that was only 6 years old at the time.

One day whenever I was 12 years old I was out for lunch with my mother, a few weeks away from Christmas, and she started to tell me that everything was a lie. The Tooth Fairy, the Easter Bunny, and Santa Claus. I told her that I had known for about 4 years, and she was shocked to hear how I found out, and then started laughing and told me I was too smart for my own good.

So that was how I figured out that Santa Claus was not real. It is kind of sad, that I discovered it so young.

How did you find out that Santa Claus was not real? let me know, I would love to hear your stories!

Leave a Reply

