Top 10 Favorite Book Series

 

I read a lot of book series so I thought that I should clarify which ones are my top 10 favorites of all time.

  1. Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J. Maas

I started this series when Throne of Glass came out, and I immediately fell in love. It was absolutely perfect. I love the way that Sarah writes, and I love the plot behind it. I am a huge fan of fantasy novels as well, so that was a bonus for me. The romance, the action, the excitement, the wonder. You will be completely hooked into these books. If you read the first book, Throne of Glass, and you’re wondering “Emily, this is good but not amazing like you said, what the heck.” Do not be alarmed. IT GETS BETTER! It gets better and better. Throne of Glass is good, Crown of Midnight is better, Heir of Fire will completely destroy you, and Queen of Shadows will make you forget about the rest of them. I would very highly recommend this to anyone, but especially fans of fantasy novels.

(On a side note- The Assassin’s Blade is a prequel. You do not need to read it to read the rest of the series, it is completely optional. Although if you do, I would suggest reading Throne of Glass first, and then The Assassin’s Blade. Also, this series is not finished. This is a 6 book series, and Queen of Shadows was the most 4th and most recently released one.)

2.

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

I have only recently read this series. I am currently on Fairest, but it has easily become my 2nd favorite series. Everything about this series is brilliant. Just like Sarah J. Maas, each book keeps getting better and better. I have always been a fan of the original Disney movies and fairy tales, so this was perfect. It is the most amazing blend of fantasy and science fiction. I would very highly recommend this to fans of fantasy and science fiction.

3.

a court of thorns and roses  A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas

If you cannot tell, I’m a fan of Sarah J. Maas. I absolutely love her writing, and this was very close to surpassing the Lunar Chronicles. Who knows, maybe in the future it might. This is another fantasy series by Sarah, but this one has more fantasy on it. It is a re-telling of Beauty and the Beast (My favorite Disney movie), and is just overall beautiful. I would very highly recommend this to fans of fantasy novels.

4.

Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling

I think this is definitely a given. Everyone should have this on their top 10 book series list. This is a fantastic series, and definitely one of a kind. Everyone should read this series sometime in their life.

5.

The Young Elites series by Marie Lu

This is a lovely series. I believe Marie Lu has truly found her genre with this series, it is all about dark fantasy. This novel is full of hatred, self-loathing, and darkness. I absolutely loved it. To journey with this main character, who is really an anti-hero, is very enjoyable. I would highly recommend this to fans of fantasy and dark fantasy.

6.

The Legend trilogy by Marie Lu

I am also a fan of Marie Lu. It saddens me that this is not up higher on the list, but the others were just more for me. Although this series is absolutely beautiful. This is for fans of dystopian novels, such as Hunger Games or Divergent, although I felt the romance to be so much more fresh, I felt everything to be a bit more realistic. I found her other series to be better, but it really it all depends on your preferred genre of books. I enjoy fantasy more than I do dystopian, but if you enjoy dystopian more, then this is the series you should read by her.This is a lovely series that I would highly recommend for fans of dystopian novels.

7.

Snow Like Ashes trilogy by Sara Raasch

I am currently working my way through the second novel in this trilogy. The first book was overall, perfect. I really, really enjoyed it, and I hope that the 2nd book turns out to be that way as well. This book is definitely fantasy, with the perfect amount of romance. I would highly recommend this to fans of fantasy novels.

8.

His Fair Assassin trilogy by Robin LaFevers

This series made me fall in love with fantasy novels and assassins. It has always been some of my favorites. I really like the way that Robin writes, and the story line behind this all. Nun assassins? That is literally brilliant. I would highly recommend this series to fans of fantasy.

9.

Article 5 trilogy by Kristen Simmons

This series really opened up my eyes to dystopian novels. It is probably one of the best I have ever read. I also found this to be more realistic, as if this could really, actually happen. The plot behind all of this, the romance, the suspense, the danger. I loved every second of this. I would highly recommend this to fans of dystopian novels.

10.

A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket

This series just had to be on the list. This was one of the very first series I ever read, and it is still one of my favorites. The title is quite explanatory, this is a series about many unfortunate events that happen to the Baudelaire siblings. It is a great series, and a very enjoyable one at that. I would highly recommend this series to everyone.

11.

May Bird trilogy by Jodi Lynn Anderson

This was the first proper book I have ever read, and it is still one of my favorites. My mother discovered whenever I was little that I liked to read, so she got me loads of children’s books to read. Whenever I eventually started to read bigger books, she got me this, and at first I was terrified of it. Soon after though, I read it, and fell in love with reading. This book actually started me into reading. I have not read the entire series, I still have yet to finish the last book, but it just had to be on my list, even though I said I was only putting 10. I would highly recommend this trilogy to everyone.

Leave a Reply

