Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

Series Status: The 1st book in the Magonia series

Publisher: HarperCollins

Page Count: 320

Synopsis: Aza Ray is drowning in thin air. Ever since she was a baby, Aza has suffered from a mysterious disease that has made it harder for her to speak, breathe, and live. When Aza see’s a ship in the sky, her family decides it is a side effect of her medicine, but Aza knows it is not. Someone in the sky is calling her name.

Only her best friend Jason listens. Jason who might be developing more than friendly feelings for her. Before this ship can sail, Aza Ray is lost to our world, and found by another. Magonia. Magonia is above the clouds, a land of ships flying in the sky, and Aza is no longer feeble and weak and dying. In Magonia, she is stronger, she is able to breathe, and she has immense power that holds the fate of humanity, and the boy that loves her. But where do her loyalties lie?

Review: I will tell you what, this book was absolutely amazing. It is a very rare and unique book to come across. All it took was the first page and I was hooked. It was engrossing and interesting, and fun to read. It was very enjoyable. The writing was beautiful and creative, and everything about it was unique. I will never be able to look up in the sky again with wondering if there are ships flying up above our heads. I cannot wait for the next book in this series!

I give this book 5/5 stars and would highly recommend it to anyone.

For more reviews from readers ofย Magonia, click here.

3 thoughts on “Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I’ve been debating whether to get this book at some point or not. I’m just drawn in by the cover. I haven’t seen many reviews but this one definitely makes me want to give it a go!
    And let me just say I love your blog! I found a discussion about blogs on Goodreads to see who else had one on wordpress, since I’ve recently started up my own book blog on here, so I’m glad I saw your comment! ๐Ÿ™‚ It looks like we read quite similar things so you’ve gained a new follower!

    Like

Leave a Reply

